Need advice for a picture

super

Thank you - So I have Nikon D5100. I can just set the camera on HDR mode OR long exposure and I will get the similar results ? No need of editing in photoshop or any software magic ?

1) HDR
2) Long exposure

Both are modes or settings in the camera ?

ShootRaw

Read post #4 and HDR is more to it then that..You must have software to edit your HDR pics..It is a combo of three different pics rolled together..

Lee532

The D5100 has HDR mode but if memory serves me well it only combines 2 frames in camera to complete the photo. I'm not an HDR expert but usually an HDR shot is anywhere from 3 to 7 (if not more) shots combined later on your computer.

Deezey

For the water shot you can get a circular polarizer and shoot either earlier or later in the day. Try not to shoot at noon because the light will be harsher. Get as slow a shutter speed as you can. Anything over a second is usually good.

With HDR the more shots usually equals smoother results. So stick with 5 to 7 shots. To get the best results you should invest in an HDR editor.

super

The D5100 has HDR mode but if memory serves me well it only combines 2 frames in camera to complete the photo. I'm not an HDR expert but usually an HDR shot is anywhere from 3 to 7 (if not more) shots combined later on your computer.

So the train HDR shot is not possible with D5100 as you mentioned it does not support more than 2 frames ?

Or by frame, you mean number of pictures and it is just about taking 3 to 9 pictures or may be 12 and then blending them together ?

Last edited:

Horoscope Fish