Advice on lens after kit please

RubenAlonzo

Greetings Everyone, I am torn between the 1.4/1.8 50mm Prime or the 18-105mm VR. I would like the speed of the Prime, but then again the range of the 18-105 has VR and as a hobbyist I am still learning proper body control etc. to get minimal shake.

I have bought the vertical grip, extra battery (I can Flash for DAYS with the extra battery!) petal hood and 3 filters. I was thinking of the getting a multiplier but do not like what they do to image quality. For those of you that have the 18-105 (which is what I am leaning to) can you chime in please and tell me about your experience with this lens? And for those with a 50mm Prime, what is it about this lens that would make it a good option as a 2nd lens?

One last question concerning flashes, now that the SB400 has been replaced with the SB300, would the SB300 still be a good hobbyist flash or should i try to get the SB400 on an auction site?

I have been shooting lately @50mm with the kit lens to get a good idea of the focal length imaging that the Prime would give me and I like it but have no nothing to compare it too as far as how fast the same picture, quality wise, would be achieved with a Prime, or how much light would be captured by the prime in comparison to the kit. I do know a prime would capture a ton more light but have not run across any comparison shots for example of a shot captured by a prime and the kit at the same focal length to compare them.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Horoscope Fish

Greetings Everyone, I am torn between the 1.4/1.8 50mm Prime or the 18-105mm VR. I would like the speed of the Prime, but then again the range of the 18-105 has VR and as a hobbyist I am still learning proper body control etc. to get minimal shake.