Dust on sensor? Oil?

adox66

So have my D7100 around 5 weeks or so and am loving in. However I have a spot that has appeared towards the top right of the frame. easily visible on blue skies etc, I`ve been cloning it out for the time being.
Got one of those Giottos Rocket Blowers and have given the sensor a few good blasts of it but its not shifting at all. Now I have no experience with these problems and I`m not sure if anyone here can tell from a cropped photo whether its dust or oil. Its certainly not shifting with the blower. Anyway heres the image:

DSC_1266 by adox66, on Flickr

Anyone hazard a guess?

adox66

dust.jpg

Apologies guys. Hopefully this is visible.

Last edited:

Ironwood

Hi Adox, I can't tell what it is from the photo, but if it is something on your sensor, my first call would be the blower, which you have already tried.

If its oil or something stuck on good, you will probably need to have the sensor wet cleaned.
Not sure what your options are to have it professionally cleaned in your area, check out your local camera shop.

I have had to clean my D7100 sensor twice , and it needs another clean now. I can't get it done locally, and it would cost me $200 to send it away for a clean, so I learnt to do it myself. It is not really that hard once you get over the intimidation of going in and touching your sensor.

Here is a thread I started at the time outlining how I went about it.
http://nikonites.com/d7100/14767-cleaned-my-sensor-d7100.html#axzz2ubnzExcd

There are plenty more threads on the same topic. Type in " D7100 sensor clean " into the search function and plenty will come up.

adox66

Thanks for the replies.

Bringing it in to the shop I bought it from later today and they are gonna have a look at it. Pretty sure they can give it a wet clean.
Will update later. :)

Englischdude

Hi Adox66,