Active D-Lighting, and some other strange things...

alfaholic

Banned
Hello everyone...

Here where I live people have some strange standards. I am a musician, and I am no longer performing because no one wants to listen to me playing music. It is strange because I played all around the world, and everyone was happy. It is not like I am some great musician, but if at number 1 is some is kid learning music, and 10 is Chick Corea, or Jordan Rudess for example, I am somewhere at 5. Of course, when it comes to producing, arranging and studio work, that number may come closer to 10, but that is not important in live performance.
At the same time people make good money with music, they are very successful, and everyone talks about them all the time, but the true is that they are somewhere at number 2 or 3, and as a matter of fact, they never get any better, they are the same as their fathers and grandfathers, and that is their best quality, they are the same as anyone else.
Everyone who wants to go further, to advance, and learn some new, and better things is doomed.

Two days a go a friend called me and asked for help in photographing a baptism. I never did anything similar, but I agreed to help him as much as I can.
Then the whole hells breaks lose...
I read a lot about wedding photography, and learned so many things about the gear, techniques, but here everything is just upside down, almost the same as with my music. Most of photographers have D70, D80, D90, and just some of them D7000, but they are minority. Everyone is shooting with P mode, and with a flash directly at the subjects face. There is no aesthetics at all, there is nothing more than sharp faces, and all everyone is satisfied with that kind of work, everything else will be unsatisfactory. Shallow depth of field, some artistic photos are all like from another planet. Everyone shoots JPGs, they do not have time to shoot RAW and edit because they sell their photos the same night they finish shooting.