Lenses for D3100

Mattys_Mommy

I do not know where to post this but I have a question. I am new to this, I took one photography class and it was with film so I am completely new to digital. I just got the Nikon D3100. It comes with the 18-55mm lens which I've read isn't excellent but at the moment I do not have the funds for a new lens. So I have two questions one when I do have the funds which lens should I plan to get. I would like a multipurpose lens and my main focus will probably be photos of my son & pets and such. My second question is I have a Tamron 28-300mm lens on my old film Nikon N60, is that compatible with my D3100? Also would it be beneficial to use or better then the lens that came with it? I still do not even understand the different lens and what they do so I have a lot to learn! Also do I need to purchase an external flash? Any extra tips on how to get the most out of my camera would be greatly appreciated too. Thanks :)

hrphotography

Re: lenses

hello, you will have a better luck posting in D3100 forum.
I guess you already have an average multi purpose lens.
for son & pets, you will like a portrait lens, the good/average one is 50mm 1.8G. it will be like 75 mm on ur camera but thats ok too.
if your tamron is "Tamron AF 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di LD VC" then yes it will work.
D3100 will require a lens with built in focus motor.
good luck!

Last edited:

Mattys_Mommy

Thanks so much! I will check out that forum. That is the lens I have. Would you suggest to use it rather then the one that came with the camera or to use them each for different things. Is there certain things each would be better at? I have so much to learn! I'm so glad I found this site!

hrphotography

tamron would be a better all rounder, beyond 150mm you will start getting some bokeh effect.
if u get used to tamron, u can sell the kit lens and get the 50mm :)

Lawrence

Welcome to the forum.