Photographing a Party

Revet

I posted this here because a wedding was the closest thing I found to photographing a party. I started shooting Raw and on manual about 6 months ago. This was the first time shooting a large party. I took some test shots to get my exposure close with the flash. I used spot metering so I could use TTL (not TTL Bal) on my flash (SB-700). My plan was to use flash compensation for any variations in exposure. LOL!!! There was no time to do that, the shot was over and gone!! Because of the multiple rooms and ceiling heights, sometimes I used bounce; but sometimes I had to use direct flash. Also different color rooms with different lighting changed exposure.

What I found was that most of the shots were pretty close and required a quick tweak in lightroom to correct exposure. Is this pretty much the best I can do?? Or is there some other method that would not require processing about half the photos in Lightroom??

I shot at 400 ISO, 1/100 of a sec (gave me just a hint of the ambient light), f/? (set it for the depth of field I wanted), spot focus and metering (forget what the proper terminology is but I think you get it), TTL flash, Flash White Balance, Auto Iso off so I was always getting 400 (again not sure if I am using the proper camera terminology for this Menu setting on my D3100).

Any further suggestions for these type of group photo's, in which exposure settings vary from room to room, would be helpful.

Last edited:

WayneF

I'll give it a try, but not sure I see any real problem. :) Other than many images perhaps. I gotta say, where I'm coming from is like returning from a weeks cruise with more than 1000 pictures, in all manner of scenes, many taken on a run, from inside dark cathedrals at high ISO to street scenes to ship interiors to bright pool scenes. :) If you have two or three hundred, it would seem an hours work ought to do it. Buck up. :)