Focus tracking lock

Geoffc

Numerous Nikon DSLRs have a focus tracking with lock setting. On my D7100 it's custom setting A3.

Historically I've left it at normal, but this weekend I turned it off. It effectively means that in continuous servo focussing it continues to track focus as long as you hold the shutter button half or fully down. The other options cause it to pause for various lengths of time before deciding to re-acquire focus. I do appreciate that this option is better in some circumstances, particularly where something may briefly get between you and the subject, such as players on a football field.

Having only tried it for a couple of shoots I can't claim to have any scientific grade findings, however I think I had more keepers when shooting various wildlife.

Has anybody else had a play with this setting and if so what option do you use?

nickt

I'm still learning to get those 'great' shots, but I found having that feature ON took away from my expectations of what continuous mode should be, especially if I am after a bird. I like it OFF and I think the default should be OFF. If a situation comes up where I have distractions to focus coming into the frame, I'll try turning it on for an appropriate duration.

Horoscope Fish

I use continuous AF because I want my focus to be, duh... Continuous and Tracking Lock, however brief it may be, interferes with that smooth, continuous AF. I also don't like letting my camera determine what it "thinks" my subject is. For these reasons I have the Focus Tracking Lock-on feature turned off as well.

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
It effectively means that in continuous servo focussing it continues to track focus as long as you hold the shutter button half or fully down.