koolop

Hey all! Newb here. Just got the Iron man red D3100 last week after my sony cyber shot gave out. Im still learning & soaking in the knowledge on how to shoot dslr so i hope to improve on my photos really soon. I tend to shoot alot of family outdoor photos & 1/6 scale doll figures (another hobby of mine). Any suggestions on the settings i should b using for these situations? I have just started shooting on auto since idk what all the functions are & have been utilizing the 18-55 lens it came with. I would like to shoot more manual & raw, so pointers on these two subjects would be great. Happy shooting!

Bill16

Re: New D3100 owners

Welcome to nikonites! Congrats on your new Nikon! :D

Hey all! Newb here. Just got the Iron man red D3100 last week after my sony cyber shot gave out. Im still learning & soaking in the knowledge on how to shoot dslr so i hope to improve on my photos really soon. I tend to shoot alot of family outdoor photos & 1/6 scale doll figures (another hobby of mine). Any suggestions on the settings i should b using for these situations? I have just started shooting on auto since idk what all the functions are & have been utilizing the 18-55 lens it came with. I would like to shoot more manual & raw, so pointers on these two subjects would be great. Happy shooting!

weebee

For taking pictures of small items a photo box is a great investment. It eliminates glare and allows you to adjust for shadows where you want them. The one pictured was under 40.00 shipped. For portraits you need a decent tripod. Since the 3100 doesn't have a remote I would recommend a battery grip that has a IR remote for the shutter. A higher zoom lenses would be good as well for any wildlife photos.

$(KGrHqV,!lMFHlsyWzJ3BR8Gse7Rcw~~60_3.JPG

koolop