Hello Nikonites!

mgoldman525

Hi everyone! My name is Mike and I'm new to serious photography. I've been doing research in optics professionally for several years now and I've always enjoyed composing interesting photos with my point-and-shoot, so I've decided to bring the two together and take the DSLR plunge.

Since I'd like to buy a camera that will support years of learning and I'm working on a grad student budget, I was thinking of buying a 5200 with the 18-140mm VR kit lens or the 18-200mm VR lens. I would appreciate any thoughts you have on my plan! Should I look at different lenses? Go for a nifty fifty right off the bat? Am I likely to find a better deal than the ubiquitous $950 kit?

Thanks!

Deezey

Welcome to the forum! The 5200 is a great dSLR. It's a good beginner/intermediate model. The 7100 though will be the best bang for the buck. A bit pricey up front. But then the only way to really outgrow it is to go FX. It may just save in the long run.

mgoldman525

Welcome to the forum! The 5200 is a great dSLR. It's a good beginner/intermediate model. The 7100 though will be the best bang for the buck. A bit pricey up front. But then the only way to really outgrow it is to go FX. It may just save in the long run.

Thanks! I'm trying to stay under $1,000, including the lens, so I assumed that the 7x00 series would be off the table. I wasn't sure that many of the differences (more AF points, the ability to use non-motorized lenses, the anti-aliasing filter) would make a difference to me in within the lifetime of the camera (5-8 years?). The more robust construction is tempting, though, but I thought the money could be better spent building up the rest of my kit (50 mm prime, filters, tripod, external mic) over the next few years. Do you think the 7100 would last significantly longer - either in terms of durability or obsolescence - than the 5200?

Deezey