Noob here

dirtycontour

Hello all!
My name is Earl and I live in NJ. I have been taking pics with a Nikon L120 and my wife and I are looking to enter the world of DSLR. I'm a total noob and I would like to learn as much as I can from this forum.

Bill16

Welcome to nikonites! I think you'll love it here! I found it a great place to learn and there are awesome members and staff that are soooo helpful! :D

My wife has a L120 and it is a great little camera. I just gave her my D5100 recently when I got my D7000. Do you have an idea of what camera you want or at least have a budget you would like to stay in?

dirtycontour

Thanks all. I plan on reading up as much as I can.

Don, we are looking at the the D3200 or the D5100. To be honest we are pretty lost right now.
Budget is around $1000

Deezey

First welcome to the forum!

Second....what are you wanting to photograph?

Also buying a refurb is a good way to go if you are on a budget.
Buy from a legit seller and you won't have any problems. For what it is worth some of the older models such as the D90 are still very good options for first time buyers.

Sent from my SCH-I405 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks all. I plan on reading up as much as I can.

Don, we are looking at the the D3200 or the D5100. To be honest we are pretty lost right now.
Budget is around $1000

You might also want to look at refurbished cameras. I would suggest the D5100 or the D5200 and the 18-105 zoom to go with it instead of the 18-55. The 18-55 is very limited for many people and they end up replacing it pretty fast. The 18-105 is a very nice walk around lens. Many people here shoot it including me and it stays on the camera probably 75% of the time.

dirtycontour

what are you wanting to photograph?
Mostly my home aquarium and your general nature pics.