fireworks

hrphotography

I need advice regarding shooting fireworks. I have 50mm 1.8 & 20mm 2.8. which one is better for fireworks?
what aperture is better?
​and would you recommend ....auto focus or fixed focus for infinity?

thanks in advance :)

shungokusatsu29

Well, I'm no expert, but I would go with the 20mm 2.8, maybe an aperture of b/t 5-8, infinity focus or slightly before and with a high ISO (the 600 is great at low light if it's exactly like the D610) and and I'm not sure as to shutter speed; you could adjust the shutter in accordance with the ISO you have set, but somewhere to keep the fireworks from blurring. Also, tripod is a must for stability! Again, I'm not expert, but just from the research I've done, I would start there. Good luck!

Last edited:

singlerosa_RIP

I agree with the 28 if the fireworks are close to you (100-200 yards). I'd say take both lenses and take some shots while it's light out to check the field of view and get your focus set. If you get there early, you can be set up and ready to roll. Everything in manual except WB (adjust later in post). ISO 100 and f/16 or higher and Bulb mode. Tripod, cable release, mirror up. Here's one from a buddy of mine's 4th of July party. D600 2/24-70 @24mm, ISO 100, f/16, 4.3 sec.

JFS_2375.jpg

Here's one shot with 70-200 2.8 @ 200mm

JFS_2750.jpg

thegaffney

Those are nice, I did this one with the 18-200mm, had to crank up the ISO since it wasn't a fast lense, but it still did OK, it was my first try, was in a horrible spot thogh, wasn't about the fight the crowd in Disneyland

1048827_10152933370720433_639032345_o.jpg

Last edited:

hrphotography

Thank you everyone, especially singlerosa for sharing those amazing photos.