Good evening from Warwick, UK!

Mineores

Hi all, I've just bought my 1st DSLR, the D3200, from Amazon for £349 with £30 cashback. This came with the 18-55mm lens kit.

I'm completely new to photography in general (am 18 years old) but I've used my fathers Sony a290, and my grandfather owned a camera store so I had lots of fun in there.

I've been mostly doing point and shoot generally, and messed around with some of the settings but at the moment the auto photos seem to come out a lot better the ones where I've changed it to manual! I've been testing photos with different Iso levels, from 100 - HI 1 and I can certainly see the difference there. What tips would you give to a newbie like me? Just simple things to alter to make my photos a little different.

I'm from Warwick, Warwickshire (UK), haven't seen many other British users round here yet!

​Cheers

Bill16

Welcome to nikonites! There are members from all over on this forum! :) I started off mostly shooting in manual mode myself, and I was a total newbie too. You can learn a lot doing trial an error method and you'll find you can get better photos than by just point and shooting on full auto. Also you need to get a good post processing app like Photoshop or lightroom. That can help a lot to get your shot they way your wanting it. :)
But there are much better photographers here than I am that you can get great advice from too! :D
Again, Welcome to the forum! :D

Mineores

Cheers! I am using Photoshop CC, slowly yet surely getting my head around it, very confusing but I'll get used to it one day.

Does anybody recommend change of manual settings from the ones you get when it comes out the box?

Bill16