17-55 f 2.8 focus problem

podgersda

Hello, newbie here and as the saying goes not everyone is good at everyting at that include professionals!
I have a problem, I dropped my 17-55 f 2.8 and sent bit off to Nikon authorised repair shop.
when it came back the auto-focus worked briefly then stopped, remove, reattached the lens seemed to clear prob, then it stopped again, switch on off, remove, reattach...nothing, then switch off and tada it worked, then stopped. I sent it back waited 3 weeks and it came back, to cut a long boring story and saga short after sending it off four times it still has the same prob, the repair say it works fine when they have it but the facts are, I have tried this lens on four Nikon bodies and the fault is the same, while other lenses work well on the same bodies so logically it must be the lens!! has anyone any ideas, am I missing something?

WhiteLight

Since you've had the problem so many times, it could either be something wrong that you're doing OR something is actually wrong with the lens, which the repair shop is responsible for.
Take your camera (or 2 if you can), and the lens to the repair shop & show them what issue you are facing.
If your technique is incorrect, they'll tell you what you're doing wrong.
If the lens has a problem, they'll see what you're talking about.
Either way you'll be closer to getting the issue resolved.

Last edited by a moderator:

podgersda

Thanks Whitelight for the reply and the welcome from marilynne.