Weathervane Critique

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
Since my mom is legally blind and couldn't see this weathervane from our car, I shot this and enlarged it so she could see it.

What I'd like to have critiqued is the overall effect--what is your first impression artistically? Is it pleasing or not pleasing? Would you change aperture to increase or decrease DOF? Would you crop differently (this is already cropped to 5x7 from the original). What changes would you suggest?

The EXIF data includes:

Nikon D90
aperture f/11
shutter 1/320 second
Circular Polarizer
ISO 200 (slowest regular ISO on D90)
122mm (used my Nikon 70-300mm 4.5-5.6 VR)
tripod mounted
Post processed in PSE 10 first then Lightroom 4 to reduce noise

I was amazed at Lightroom's ability to reduce noise compared with PSE 10. My preference will be to use Lightroom for noise reduction. I'm still new to editing with Lightroom so I chose to edit this as a jpeg. My D600 doesn't have the amount of noise that this D90 has so I'm glad to see Lightroom works so well.

034 5x7 resize.jpg

Michael J.

Love the color - maybe a step left and the branches from the tree are out the roof and the brenches after will be a good frame for the photo too.

BackdoorArts

It's a nice shot. I was thinking about the branches as well, but I have a feeling that a little left and they start getting in the way, and it's even possible that at some point the right branches were clear and the wind moved them in on this particular shot. Regardless, I'm not bothered by them. If I was I'd also say you needed to get a little higher to avoid cutting off the bottom molding.