Newbie looking for advice on DSLR & Lenses for everyday & youth sports shooting...

stig70

Newbie looking for advice on DSLR & Lenses for everyday & youth sports shooting...

Hello everyone,

Newbie here looking to purchase my first DSLR. I think I've read too many reviews/spec docs at this point, and am looking for expert advice as to whether the camera's I've shortlisted are appropriate, or over my head, for the shooting scenarios I've listed below.

I am willing to spend up to $2K (max) to get either a camera body and one great 'all around' lens, or a camera body and two high quality lenses.

Shooting scenarios, in order of importance:

• Have quality AutoFocus functionality with either camera or lens motor for 'Continuous Shooting/Tracking' of players during youth soccer or baseball games. Would prefer not to have to worry about manually zooming for the first 3-6 months as I practice and learn. [Distances of subjects could be from 10 ft to 150ft away]
  • Functionality for recording/playback to HDTV of (HD) quality video. This again would be of youth soccer or baseball games, or practice drills/moves, or indoor school plays/events. Clip lengths would range from 1 to 25 minutes each, and would like the ability to do this multiple times over a 1 to 2 hour period.
    • I would really like to have the ability to record and/or playback HD video in slow motion/60fps)
  • Shoot landscape, nature, animal, people pictures while on family hikes. Subjects couldn be anywhere from 5ft to 100ft away.
  • Shoot pictures of people or groups at outdoor events in moderate to good light such as picnics, beach, hikes, crowds at youth sporting events with subjects 5ft to 35ft away.
  • Shoot pictures of people or groups at indoor events like weddings, parties, etc which are typically all in low to very low light conditions with subjects 5ft to 20ft away. This will only be 4-5 times per year.