Newbie from Orlando, FL

kimrpaige

Hello All,
Yes, I am a newbie from orlando and a fairly newbie to Digital Photography. I had a Canon AE1 Program years ago, (bought it in 82 or 83) and I played with it for years, then I decided to go digital a couple of years ago and bought a D60 off Craigslist. I now have just upgraded to a brand new D7000. All I can say is Wow!! I am almost 60 years old and a bit overwhelmed! I bought a Dummies book for the D7000, and have read it cover to cover, I am still a bit overwhelmed, but I will get it with help from you all and the internet. I have a 50/1.8 G af lens I just bought and also a 18-200 VR lens as well as a SB600 flash, so I should be all set. (for a while) I hope this forum does not get tired of stupid questions, as I think I may have some later, LOL I want to thank all in advance for this site, I am so excited, can't wait to just go out and shoot and play. Anybody in Orlando that wants to teach a old dog some tricks, just let me know. Kim

LensWork

Kim,

Welcome. There is a great source for learning and equipment needs in Orlando: Colonial Photo & Hobby. In-fact the Nikon tech rep will be at the store on Saturday July 20th teaching a class on the D7000. The class costs only $20 and at the conclusion of the class you will get a gift card from Colonial for $20, so basically the class is free. The class starts at 11 a.m.

Mike

kimrpaige

Mike,
Thanks, I have been in the store a couple of years ago, yes, nice place. I did not know about their classes. I will have to check them out. Thanks so much! Now on Saturday, unfortunately I will be out of town, Boston for my Son's conversion ceremony. So here it is I am in Orlando, and A Nikon rep. is going to be in town to discuss the D7000, that I just happen to have a brand new one and looking for training and of course the only weekend I am out of town. Well that just kinda sucks!!!! Hopefully there will be more. Kim

Whiskeyman