D3100 help with night time pictures

hksecrist

New to D3100 and need to know the recipe for night time pictures outdoors. I have tried the night setting and played with some of the white exposures, ISO etc. I am brand new at using a good camera and clueless......

Somersetscott

a tripod (or a flat surface), slow shutter speed, higher ISO - in what moderation? Well! it is all dependant on how much light is present.

What exactly are you trying to shoot? - how much light examples: Car in a carpark with street lighting, Star gazing no aftificial light, buildings with lights on.. etc etc..

also your camera lens(es) etc

If this information is given you'll get better information and the result you require

There is always an element of trial and error :)

Somersetscott

PS, good to post failure, progression and successful photos and the camera settings for the photo if possible - the members here can offer some awesome advice on improvements. :)

Welcome to Nikonites. I was fooling around this morning after getting off work and while waiting for the sun to rise I shot this at these settings, just experimenting. This was taken about 10 minutes before the sun actually rose.
Nikon D90 camera
Manual Mode
ISO-200
f/22
1 second exposure handheld w/elbows braced on a rail
with my 18-105mm lens @ 18mm
499bb9bc-cd27-4c48-8198-8c9eb4a1bf51_zps78e70483.jpg

Last edited:

Horoscope Fish

New to D3100 and need to know the recipe for night time pictures outdoors. I have tried the night setting and played with some of the white exposures, ISO etc. I am brand new at using a good camera and clueless......​