Hello to all the "Nikon" community......

NikonChuck

Hello to all the Nikon community......

I'm new to the use of this type of forum, but willing to learn. I attend as many "classes" and "schools" as time permits. Photographers are "nice" people. It's an art form which has brought me a great deal of enjoyment over the years. As a retired pilot, I'm interested in photographing airshows. My D80 with a 200mm lens won't cut it.

At ACY, I found out that It’s unsuitable to capture the jets. I felt that I needed a longer lense for the next airshow.

I have an opportunity to purchase an old vivitar 120-600mm f.5.6 lens for under $200. While it’s not an autofocus digital lens, it has the bayonet type attachment formerly used on the old Nikons. Can this lens be used with any type of inexpensive digital body to get the job done? Preferably, I would like to build a combination for just the airshow purpose. Please advise.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Joseph Bautsch

Welcome to the Nikonites Community. If you would please complete your profile with some information about your self as well as what camera lens and equipment you are using. It will help in answering your questions. We would like to see some of your air show shots in your gallery. You will be able to upload to the gallery after you have completed five posts.