Need an honest opinion

mikeh32217

All my family and friends tell me I am a good photographer, but I still feel I'm an amateur. I have put many photos on Flickr but don't get many hits and even less people commenting, so what I need is an honest opinion so that I can grow.
The photos below are pretty indicative of my work, i.e. I mostly do landscape shots, with an occasional family wedding, graduation or other type event.

ISO: 200
35mm
f/9.0
1/20sec
Bartram Canoe Trail.jpg

Sunset over Little Talbot Island State Park.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

AC016

Here is my opinion: Don't gauge your capability by the number of hits you get or don't get, on Flikr. Flikr is a huge place and unfortunately, there will be many other people who produce the same level of work you do.
I like both your photos. I don't know how much post processing you have ever done to any of your pictures, but you may want to consider learning something like Photoshop in a serious manner.
For the first photo, you could have played around with a CPL to take the reflection off the water, just to see the effect it would have given you. You could have also taken multiple exposures and do some HDR to it, to bring out more of the dynamic range.
For the second photo, HDR would come in handy as well. There is a good article about it on photographylife.com about HDR.
I think all you need to do is pull the artist out of you, use some PP techniques and make your photos stand out more.

Dave_W

The Dude