New user, very confused about zoom

deftones1976

I took delivery of a Nikon D7000 18-105mm VR camera yesterday, it's my first DSLR and expectations were very high!

I was playing about with it last night and was trying to zoom in on certain objects say 10ft away to see how impressive the zoom was - well I must be doing something very wrong as the pictures I've taken of objects less than 10ft away appear no larger than if you we're looking with the naked eye.

I've turned the zoom so it's fully extended and played about with the focus ring, and I'm totally confused as to why I'm not able to zoom in close on objects only a very short distance away, even my old Canon powershot could zoom in better than this so now wondering why I've spent £800!

Clearly I'm doing something wrong or the camera is faulty, I don't see which it can be so any advice would be appreciated.

Like I said I'm a total newbie to DSLR cameras so keep it simple :)

thanks

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Re: New user, very confused and need advice!

Welcome to the forum.

I think that you are not doing anything wrong and the camera is not faulty. I think that your expectations were just wrong. A powershot camera had a very short focal length lens because the sensor was much smaller than what you have on the D7000. This would allow you to have more depth of field and also take pictures of objects much closer. The Canon also probably had a longer reach zoom than the 18-105.

You either will have to learn the camera's and lens basic limitations and work with them or get a simpler point & shoot camera. Photography is not a simple thing to learn, and the more advanced is the equipment, the more control it gives you, but if your expectations are wrong for the lens you have, then your relationship with your camera will not be a happy one.