DSLR Newbie D3100 (Red) Owner

Tiefighter

hello, everyone!!
I am new to the site and already enjoying all the posts and info. I purchased my 3100 about 2 months ago. I stepped up from a point and shoot Nikon S570. I am completely blown away by the amazing pictures the camera takes. But I am also overwhelmed by all the different settings that can be made. I try to stick to AUTO when shooting when on vacation or just at a family outing. Like I said in the title, I am a DSLR rookie and I know nothing about Aperture, F stops, shutter speed or ANYTHING!! So I will be asking many questions so try to bear with me. The lens I have is OK... I find it works well with objects that are close. I tried shooting the moon and it just looks like the sun at night, no details of the lunar surface. Well I appreciate you all taking the time to read this. I will spending a lot of time here and doing some reading and messing with the camera settings. I have not tried to shoot a video yet but I will. In the near future!!

BTW what is a good picture hosting site to use???

Attachments

• DSC_0109.jpg
    DSC_0109.jpg
    50.9 KB · Views: 242
Last edited by a moderator:
If you want to, you can definitely learn all about "Aperture, F stops shutter speed or ANYTHING" on here.
As to your next question
BTW what is a good picture hosting site to use???
I use Photobucket to host my photos!

Last edited by a moderator:

WayneF

I tried shooting the moon and it just looks like the sun at night, no details of the lunar surface.

Welcome to the forum. A good book that every beginner ought to have is Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure. Your public library probably has a copy.