I need camera recommendations!

Zic6269

I'm an artist looking to buy a Nikon Digital SLR. I'm not a professional photographer by any means, so I don't know much when it comes to the tech behind a camera. Therefore, I need recommendations for a camera that will best meet my needs and meet my criteria, which are as follows:

-Is mid-range (up to around $2000)
-Will take decently sized, highly-detailed, and clear reference photos (mostly portraits and full-figure shots in various settings).
-Is not too complicated to use. However, I would rather have a camera that will take more time to learn but provide better photos, than one that is simpler to learn but provides poorer photos.

It may also be helpful to know that I currently own a D5000 with the standard 18-55mm lens. I'm not very satisfied with it because when I take photos with it, they tend to lose clarity and detail as they get close to the edges. It also seems a little too easy to use and I'm afraid I'm missing out on some features in other cameras that may be beneficial to me.

Anywyas, if you guys could offer any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it!

Zic6269

Those are the two that I have been looking at, but there seems to be a lot of debate on which one is a better camera. It seems that a lot of people think the megapixel count for the D800 is too high for its sensor size and that it will therefore turn out poorer-quality images. Can you shed any light on this?

Mfrankfort