A noob question about taking sharp pictures

Hans Kondor

Hello,

I am still studying my first SDLR camera. I bought now a 18-105vr to my D7000 for a walk around lens. I have encountered the following problem.
I tried to photograph my cacti. And many times it occured that I cannot make sharp pictures from the cactus. Here is an example what I am thinking of. The firts picture made with my mobile phone. As you can see every ribs and spikes are sharp. On the next picture made with the camera using Scene-Close up settings you can see some of the ribs are obscure. What should I change? I tried to use the A function with different F-stops, but I am not sure that that is the problem. Any ideas?

Thank you in advance!
20130506_172130 másolata.jpgDSC_1029.JPG

You have probably two different problems going on. Depth of field, a smaller aperture (Larger number) will help. Also it looks like it is not in focus to begin with. You may be to close. Back up some or buy a macro lens.

Fred Kingston

Looking at your EXIF data... I'd say your speed was too slow for hand held... You should increase the speed (or use a tripod)...

Never mind... I see the flash fired... Maybe Don has the right idea... that lenses minimum focus distance is 1.48'...

Last edited:

stmv

Point and shoots benefit by having (due to their small image sensor size, large DOF), since they are really intended for the quick shot.

SLRs are requiring knowledge of speed and focal length. You should not need a tripod in the conditions you were shooting in.

Keep the speed up over 250th a second, hold the camera steady, and controlled push on the shutter.

Also, hold a camera a split second on the subject, people have the habit of pulling away the camera from the subject too quickly, and inducing blur.

Horoscope Fish