New Lense zoom

voop

Hi all
Really loving reading this forum with all the usefull info posted.
I am just starting out with dslr photography and was wondering if someone could advise on a relatively good zoom and macro lense for my D3100.
Thanks in advance

Mike150

Hiya Voop. Welcome. I'll assume you got a kit lens with your D3100. I'll also guess it was the 18-55mm.
Hard to tell you what you should get because not sure what your photography interests are. You mentioned Macro... I have the 105mm Macro. A fantastic lens. I do, however, find that if I have it on the camera for general shooting, I have to back up some. A friend has the 85mm macro and loves that as an All around lens.
As far as zoom goes... If you have the 18-55, then the 55-300 would be a good long range partner for that.
Don't forget the Primes. You're going to want either the 35mm 1.8 or the 50mm 1.8... The list can go on and on and on and on and on...... It's called NAS.. (Nikon Acquisition Syndrome)

Mike150

Boy there are a lot of people who are smarter than I am here, but basically, a "Prime" is a lens with a fixed Focal Length. A 35mm or maybe a 50mm would be prime lenses. A zoom can cover a range of focal lengths, so an 18-105mm would cover the range of 18mm all the way up to 105mm.

Primes are generally faster (more sensitive to light) than zooms. A 50mm f/1.8 is much more sensitive than the 18-105 f/3.5-5.6. The " f " number is the Aperture of the lens The lower the number, larger the aperture opening. Again. try to narrow down what you want to photograph the most... that will help you in lens selection.

You have a long road ahead but don't let that discourage you. Check out this site Digital Photography Tips and Tutorials It has a lot of good starter information.

As you learn the terms (Aperture, Shutter, ISO and others), take some sample pictures in Auto then look at the picture data on the computer or camera to see what the camera selected.

Alecaldi