Astro-Photography.

Elliot6267

Hi there gang.

let me first say, this is only my second thread post. Im relatively new to this game and so far I am loving it! :) I'll try and post some of my pictures at a later daye for your viewing pleasure. until then however, I have a question:

A friend of mine recently got into Astrology, and has purchased quite a fancy telescope. I have a Nikon D3100 (obviously) and are looking to combine forces to get some pretty decent pictures of the night sky.

so, my question is, what do I need to connect the two. I've read about T-rings, and adapters, but is there anything else? can anyone spec some good kit??

thanks guys.

​Elliot

Horoscope Fish

A friend of mine recently got into Astrology, and has purchased quite a fancy telescope.
I could be wrong but it sounds like your friend has a new found interest in astronomy, not astrology. :p

... so, my question is, what do I need to connect the two. I've read about T-rings, and adapters, but is there anything else? can anyone spec some good kit??
I think we'd need to know the make and model of telescope before we could answer that. Most serious scopes have accessories that allow you connect to a camera but again, it's going to be make/model specific sort of thing me thinks.

At a minimum you're going to need a T-ring and a T-ring adapter for a Nikon mount. I'd Google them or look to some place like telescope (dot) com for these items.

Last edited:

patrick in memphis