Photographic apprehension

Lord Nikon

Since I'm fairly new to photography, especially with a camera that kind of stands out more than a point and shoot, I often feel apprehensive about taking my camera out of my bag to start shooting.

its not so much that it might get stolen, although that is a concern, it's more.. Confrontation from someone who may be on the photo, say in a public street shot.

has anyone ever been stopped and confronted whilst taking a photo?

Regards

Lord Nikon.

Edit: oops I have just realised this could be in a better spot,
if a passing mod could move it to a more desired location that would be great ;)

Last edited:

Mike150

Hi Lord.
Don't be afraid of theft. It will most likely not be a problem as long as you take a few simple precautions. Keep your camera bag with you. Don't set it on a bench and walk a short distance away to take a shot.
As far as street shots go, it is a Public Street. You would be within your rights. The worst case I could forsee is that if confronted by someone, you can always offer to delete the photo from the camera in front of them.

Marilynne

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
On my morning bike ride I pass a tiny lake. I stop most mornings if there are ducks in the pond. One morning a man with a dog stopped. He told me in a loud voice I should have asked if I could take his photo or the dogs. I informed him I had not taken any photos of them, but since he mentioned it, would it be all right to take a picture of the dog. He said only the dog. If unsure, ask.

stmv

yup,, always an issue,, common sense, ask when it you can, if you take a candid, where asking will destroy the shot,, take the shot, approach the person,, say that you are a photographer,, and say you got a great photographer, and would they like a copy, I will email the shot to them within 12 hours. People are vain,, so, most are thrilled.