+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Nikon's camera naming convention

    Since I go so long between camera purchases (~8-10 years), I find it a little tricky navigating the product lineup when I do decide it's time for an upgrade.

    The naming convention these days would seem to be:

    * Single digit = FX sensor, professional model, take out a home equity loan to buy it (e.g., D5)
    * 3 digits = FX sensor, serious amateur to professional, somewhat affordable (e.g., D610, D850)
    * 4 digits = DX sensor, beginner to serious amateur, affordable (e.g., D5600, D7500)

    But then there's the D500. Three digits in the name, but a DX sensor. What's up with that? Are there any cameras in the range that don't follow the formula?

    And why did Nikon discontinue 2-digit model names? (My last camera was a D90). Maybe Marketing thought they sounded too low-rent. By that logic, the D5 must be a disposable.

    I wonder about these things.

    › See More: Nikon's camera naming convention
    Last edited by Pocono_ACE; 10-29-2018 at 01:55 PM. Reason: Make items in list stand out better

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Woodyg3's Avatar

    Re: Nikon's camera naming convention

    The D300 and D300S were also DX cameras, and the D500 was more or less the update to that camera.
    Woody Green

    Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose

    D500, D7200, D7100, D70

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above before posting.

Similar Threads

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts