Using a SB-600 remotely with a Z5

Bonky

Newbie here.... I can use the Speedlight with the Z5 via the hot-shoe. However, I wish to use it remotely. I can't see how I can do this (looking at the Z5 manual and Z5 menu). From what I've read I need a 'trigger' mounted on the hot-shoe. Is this correct? If so, what are your recommendations (I'd imagine the Nikon one is expensive!). Godox seems a good make - but which version?

Many thanks,

Richard

edit: or can I buy a SB-400 and use that as the controller/master and the SB-600 as a 'slave'? If so, which is the better option?

Last edited:

BF Hammer

Two options. Both require buying more stuff.

SB-600 when it was introduced 18 or so years ago could be controlled remotely via the Nikon CLS which uses encoded flashes from a master flash to control a remote. In those days most DSLRs had a pop-up flash that could be the master. Or the even more expensive SB-800 could be configured to be a master or remote. The 600 could only act as a remote. There is no pop-up on Z series (except a Z50), so it would take buying a SB-800 or later series equivalent to put in the hot shoe. Honestly I have never read through the menu of flash options of my Z5 to know if CLS is still supported by an external speed light. I don't have the right speedlight to do that.

Better way is buying a radio trigger. It is a better way normally since there is no preflashing and visible line of sight needed to operate. Should be cheaper also. I don't own any of these either so I cannot guide you beyond this.

But my SB-600 works fine as a remote with my DSLR D750 as it has the pop-up.

BF Hammer

In reply to your SB-400 question, it cannot be used as a master or remote flash with Nikon CLS. I have one of those also that came before my SB-600.

Clovishound