Compare sharpness and IQ

blackstar

These two images are not mine, but there was a serious critical debate about the photo gear used to produce them. In order to not bring in your personal biased (or intentional) opinion, none of the details is revealed. Just compare the images and opine on their sharpness and IQ: one is better or both are equal or the same.
Z81_3797-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Z81_4385-Enhanced-NR.jpg

BF Hammer

2nd is only sharper due to having the cardinal having a "flatter" profile in the focus plane. And I can see the exif data anyhow so I can see why it has an advantage for being sharp front to rear above and beyond that.

SPV

The sharpness of the feather in the 2nd photo says it is sharper. but I'm not an expert to judge. Will agree with the senior member's comment.

blackstar

The sharpness of the feather in the 2nd photo says it is sharper...
I think you are right in the same way as BF indicated (and I observed). However, IMO, if the focus points are on the eye, they get the same (or at least) sharpness there.

Clovishound

I would agree that number 2 looks a little sharper. I would point out that number one is noticeably noisier, which introduces another variable to the mix, unless that was the point of the exercise. Also, these are small images. To adequately determine if an image is really sharp, I normally enlarger to a much greater degree than these are posted at.

blackstar

I would agree that number 2 looks a little sharper. I would point out that number one is noticeably noisier, which introduces another variable to the mix, unless that was the point of the exercise. Also, these are small images. To adequately determine if an image is really sharp, I normally enlarger to a much greater degree than these are posted at.