Program mode question

hrphotography

I have been using M mode for last 2 years (with Olympus & now with D600). Usually to get a good pic i have to take a few pics with different settings (i keep ISO low and usually change shutter speeds). I decided to use P mode, keeping low ISO and letting camera control the shutter speed (&aperture). I noticed that the pics are too bright, losing the clouds effects (esp when i want to make HDR). So my question is, is there a setting to take less brighter photos with P mode?

Thanks in advance.

hrphotography

no problem with manual, it was just i have to get 3-4 shots before i get the one i want (decent exposure), and if even i am at the same place and for next shot i zoom in (which changes the aperture) i have to try 3-4 shots again before i can get the right shutter speed. So i want to try P mode and let the camera do this for me. I know the camera meters the light then selects a shutter speed and aperture....i was wondering if there is a setting that can be changed so the camera would take less brighter photos? (btw i take photos in RAW and edit them in PS for WB, sharpness etc but if its too bright then the fine details are lost).
I hope i was able to tell what i want :)

pedroj

Can't help with what you want....Which lens are you using as in {example] 28-85mm 3.3-4.5..

In manual If you set it at F3.3 for 28mm then zoom out to the long end 85mm the aperture will reset at F4.5 so if you set your aperture beyond F4.5 It will not...Have you tried something like this...

If you have a fixed aperture lens like F2.8 or F4 it will stay as is..

Last edited:

hrphotography

I have AF-S 28-300mm. the aperture varies with focal length. I was hoping there would be a setting like exposure compensation (set to -1 or so) so that the camera would adjust shutter speed (probably faster speed) to get less brighter pics (in RAW also).

Fixed aperture zoom lenses are very expensive, cant buy those : (