Is this harsh lighting?

Kias

So I'm trying to train my eyes on what to look for in pictures. I've probably been through a thousand different portraits online tonight. My eyes are going bonkers.

I think I have some harsh lighting here. Thoughts?

20121219-Erin Post.jpg

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Yes, it is harsh. And a little too low as well. Bring it up a bit or turn it around and have it bounced on a wall or a large white surface.
Trial and error makes for a well learned lesson.

Kias

Ok, thanks! I was thinking that's what it was, but wasn't sure.

It's my first attempt at a portrait.

The source is what I could find laying around the house. Six par 16 halogens spots on the ceiling front and back. A cheap clip on dome thing with a 60w CFL twirly bulb front bottom. And 3 cheap 60w cfl twirly bulbs in a regular lamp on the side.

Ok, I know it's not the best lighting, but I've only had the camera for 1 week now. Gotta get over the sticker shock, then I can start buying umbrellas and stuff.

My original goal for the new camera was to just get better pictures. I've already nailed that one. Time to move on to bigger and better goals! :glee:

Robert Mitchell

Harsh is something of a subjective term.

You're creating a very small light source relative to the subject and it's a hard source. Transitions from highlight to diffuse, diffuse to shadow and shadow to black are rapid. The light source is also positioned much lower than would normally be considered a pleasing height, and that's adding to the drama, or Halloween type lighting that you've created. Even if you find you like the hard quality of light, changing the height and direction of the light source will make a big difference.

Having said that, I rarely see photographs of children with hard light that I like and for the most part, it's not done much at all.

Kias

OH! And for it being too low... I took 90 some pictures with the lights in various places... I'll go look for another one.