SB700 w/ D5100

Rickysa

Still working my around my new toy...purchased a SB-700 to go with the camera, and am now learning that the 5100 does not have commander mode, although the 700 does...

Since I'm the last person in the free world to have just jumped into DSLR land (I still can't bear to part w/ all the Nikon 35 mm stuff on the shelf), I would guess that the best way to manage this situation and take advantage of the wireless capability of commander mode, would just be to purchase a secondary strobe that is "commander mode capable" and mount the sb-700 on the camera's hotshoe?

Thanks and hello to all here!

Dave_W

The Dude
I'm pretty sure that is they way most people set up the slave/commander mode. I've no experience with strobes but I have read a bit about them and I believe that's they way most people run them.

RockyNH_RIP

Still working my around my new toy...purchased a SB-700 to go with the camera, and am now learning that the 5100 does not have commander mode, although the 700 does...

Since I'm the last person in the free world to have just jumped into DSLR land (I still can't bear to part w/ all the Nikon 35 mm stuff on the shelf), I would guess that the best way to manage this situation and take advantage of the wireless capability of commander mode, would just be to purchase a secondary strobe that is "commander mode capable" and mount the sb-700 on the camera's hotshoe?

Thanks and hello to all here!

Just wondered how you made out with your new flash??? I am also going to be buying the SB-700 for my D5100. I may look into cheaper off camera units and run them via radio triggers.

Pat in NH

Rickysa

Love the SB-700...even signed up for the Nikon class that's offered in a nearby city to learn how to get the most out of it!!

RockyNH_RIP

Love the SB-700...even signed up for the Nikon class that's offered in a nearby city to learn how to get the most out of it!!