Jittery video when panning

bgrg

Hi,

Please watch this very short clip: DSC 0001 2 - YouTube
This clearly shows that even slow and steady panning motion makes the video jittery, for me it's rather uncomfortable to watch. I used a tripod and a rubber band to pan the camera, so it's not my hands trembling. Do you know what causes it and how to avoid it?

Thanks,
greg

Last edited:

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
When I get to YouTube, I get the "no video" message… Maybe check your link or make sure you've uploaded your video.

Moab Man

My background is video, and although I can't at the moment access the video I would check the following.
1. Panning video is best shot on a tripod with a fluid head. Small amounts of stiction looks huge on the video.
2. Was the computer up to snuff. HD is really intensive to process.
3. Computer needed a restart and your editor was acting stupid.
4. Did it only show up on YouTube? YouTube could have acted stupid in processing.

Hope some of this might have helped.

Philnz

Hi,

This clearly shows that even slow and steady panning motion makes the video jittery, for me it's rather uncomfortable to watch. I used a tripod and a rubber band to pan the camera, so it's not my hands trembling. Do you know what causes it and how to avoid it?

Thanks,
greg
I have the same problem with my 5100 even when just holding camera steady. Having said that, I do very little with video and have not spent a lot of time trying to sort it out. But an answer would be good.

Last edited by a moderator:

bgrg

My background is video, and although I can't at the moment access the video I would check the following.
1. Panning video is best shot on a tripod with a fluid head. Small amounts of stiction looks huge on the video.
2. Was the computer up to snuff. HD is really intensive to process.
3. Computer needed a restart and your editor was acting stupid.
4. Did it only show up on YouTube? YouTube could have acted stupid in processing.