Please Help the 3200 or the 5100!!

malcolmsmiss

I have researched til my head hurt's but I'm getting ready to buy the 3200 or the 5100..I'm not a professional but I love to take pictures of everything..From portraits, to my nephews playing sports..to birds and pictures of my dogs..I want to be able to get those great shots of the boys on the field but at the same time a simple picture of my grand daughter..I don't want to make the wrong choice in a camera and after I have bought it wish I had gotten the other one..could someone please help me :(

Dave_W

The Dude
That's tough, the 3200 has a newer and larger sensor but the 5100 has more capabilities built in to it. It really depends upon how you see yourself using it. If you're considering taking on photography as a hobby then I think the 5100 would offer you a wider range of possibilities but if you're thinking more on the lines of documentary photography meant to capture your grandkids growing up, maybe the 3200 might be the answer.

Not to confuse things any more for you but have you considered the D7000? It's selling now at rock bottom prices and has more than enough room for a novice to grow into a dedicated enthusiast/semi-professional. In addition, the D7000 opens up a wider array of lenses compared to either the 3200 or the 5100. If a couple hundred dollars more is not a big issue then I would suggest the D7000. It's a perfect camera for everyday use but it also has enough room to grow if your photography turns into more than just a weekend thing.

Carroll