Raw or jpeg

Billys60

Hi folks, I'm new to this and only bought a d3100 two weeks ago, i had an slr many years ago, but digital has many other issues.

My question is this should I save my pics in raw or jpeg format.

Cheers folks

§am

RAW if you're going to do any (serious) work on the files after.
JPEG if you're not going to do much more than cropping, effects, etc.

And if you're new to DSLR then that time is better spent learning your new camera then playing with RAW files :)

RockyNH_RIP

Hi folks, I'm new to this and only bought a d3100 two weeks ago, i had an slr many years ago, but digital has many other issues.

My question is this should I save my pics in raw or jpeg format.

Cheers folks

Hi Billy, welcome to Nikonites...

I started with JPEG, then learned the advantage of RAW for post processing... so I tried saving both... way too much wasted space for me.. so then I shoot all in raw... works fine for me.

The exception, as mentioned, if you are not doing any real post processing, then JPEG saves a lot and likely when you share it will be JPEG anyway..

I took 120 pics at the company xmas party, mostly head & shoulders and they will likely only have minor exposure adjust and dump to the net for the workers to view and download... I shot JPEG for that... (note serious work)

There you have it from a newbie... I would start now in Raw to get used to it... and just use JPEG for what I call snaps..

Pat in NH

Kias

Hi Billy! Welcome.

I just got my camera yesterday, so I'm sorta in the same boat as you right now. Currently I have raw going to one sd card, and jpeg going to the other sd card. Quite frankly, I haven't even done anything with the jpg's.

I did purchase lightroom a month or two ago in preparation for the new camera. I was playing in lightroom with jpg's, until today. It's amazing what that program can do with raw pics!