Two New Lenses

Cowboybillybob1

I just got via UPS two lenses from B&H.
An AF-S 35mm 1.8G and an AF-S 50mm 1.8g.
I have been playing with these two today and am so happy so far. The 1.8 allows me to take photos sans flash. I think these will be perfect for Christmas photos at my 85 year old Mom's house with my three kids. I am going to be so annoying taking loads of photos.

I am new to this DSLR stuff but am having a blast so far. Photoshop CS6 is a bit daunting but I am getting beter.

I will try to post some photos if they are at all presentable.

Cowboybillybob1

Here is one of the first pics i have taken that looks kinda cool. I welcome some brutal critique.
Singer copy.jpg

suvlady

How are you liking the lenses now that you have had a few days to play with them? Are you liking one better than the other? I am new also and I was thinking of buying one. Which would you suggest?

Cowboybillybob1

That's hard to say. I am still getting used to them and they both do different things. It really depends on the situation.
I am going to use them a lot on Christmas day at a family get together. I suspect the 35mm will be better for group shots and the 50mm for more intimate situations. The 1.8 aperture will be good for shots without flash.
I may also bring along a 55 to 200 lens that will require a flash but may work out with people not knowing I am taking their pic since I will be further away.

Wish I can be more decisive here but I will know better after Christmas. Again, a lot depends on what you are trying to shoot and the situation.

As far as quality they both take clear and sharp shots.

Last edited by a moderator:

suvlady

Thanks for your reply. I hope you and your family enjoy the holidays! I will look forward to hearing your feedback after you have used the lenses in the real life situation. I'm leaning toward the 50mm, but I like the concept of the 35mm also. Shooting nice clear shots in low light without the flash is what I'm after also.

Happy Holidays!