Looking for a 400mm reach zoom.

twinkle_2k86

Im after some help please.

Now i dont have big money for a long range zoom. I use to have a sigma 400mm 5.6 prime on my canon, and loved it.

Now im coming over to Nikon, what options are out there?

Im thinking, go back with the sigma 400mm prime again. or

Sigma 70-200 f2.8, and the 2x convertor? get 2 lens in one then.

The nikon 80-200 f 2.8 (not sure if you can fit a convertor?)

Or maybe theres something else that maybe better and cheaper?

Will be hopefully getting a D300 sometime after christmas to fit it to.

cheers

twinkle_2k86

i currently have no camera :(. i sold it last night. It was a canon 400d.

Selling all my canon gear and coming over to Nikon. So trying to get my head around the nikon lens about.
I would be looking at used lens, not new.

Have looked at the Tokina 80-400 lens as well. thats looks quite a nice lens for the money?

gqtuazon

Gear Head
I have no experience with the Tokina or other 3rd party long range zoom lenses. Camera equipment are always expensive especially if you want the best possible IQ. The Nikon lenses tend to retain their value better than the Tamron, Sigma or Tokina lenses. The Nikon 80-400mm lens has a very slow AF from what most owners mention.

Good luck with your next camera.

stmv

wow, sold your Canon Gear to jump ship, what Nikon swayed your boat?

The long range lens is my weak spot. I have older Manual 300 mms but frankly never been happy with their results, I have the 80-200 2.8 and use the old 2x and shoot manual, and get reasonable results, but loose my auto functions.

Even have a 500 Nikon F8 mirror lens (actually managed to get reasonable shots with that, but of course not optiminal).

So, I am leaning toward the 300 mm F4 also. heard that the sigma zooms are not bad.

welcome to Nikon, be interested in what you end up settling in on.

twinkle_2k86

wow, sold your Canon Gear to jump ship, what Nikon swayed your boat?