Birthday’s Coming Up ….. Which Lens for My D800E Should Be Next?

Thatguy Steve

Well I just purchased my D800E as an early Christmas present for myself.

I currently have the Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G.

My wish list has the usual suspects:

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Nikon AF-S Zoom Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED AF
Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

But I can only buy one of these lens after the first of the year (and maybe two more before the end of 2013).

I'm more into general photography (portaits, landscape, etc.). But would like to do some macro stuff too eventually. Just trying to fill my bag up.

Which one would you choose first?

Get the most exspensive one out of the way first? Which one would be the most versitle out of the gate and help me cover most of the bases?

RockyNH_RIP

Steve,

I am a newbie so the experts will be here along soon to really help... Congrats on the early Christmas present..

Based on your likes to shoot... you may want something wider... and the 50 is a great portrait lens as long as you get close enough... I would be looking for a wide to medium telephoto zoom to get me a wider range of coverage..

Off your list it would be the 24 - 70... There are some others 18-105 & 18 to 200 That will get you a bit longer range but not sure of the price/review..

pat in NH

Mike150

Hey Steve,
Where in VA are you? I'm up in the hills a little north of Charlottesville.
Like you, I have debated on which lens to purchase. Why not try renting one and seeing how it works for you. I've used LensRentals.com - Rent Lenses and Cameras from Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Sony, Leica, and more in the past and they're really good to deal with. They're the reason I fell in love with the 70-300. My only problem is my wife won't give me the money. Keeps saying things like Santa needs it for the grand kids.

Thatguy Steve

Hey Mike,

I'm way up here in the bustling metropolis of Springfield .....