Opinions on Remotes for the D800

Thatguy Steve

Looking through the list of D800 accessories I noticed many optional remote units available.

Prior to my D800E I had a D7000 and the Nikon remote unit which came in very handy.

For my D800E I’m thinking either the MC-36 or ML-3 but was looking to get some opinions before I pull the trigger.

Any points or concerns I need to be aware of?

Or ..... other recommendations?

Dave_W

The Dude
I have the MC-36 and love it. The only thing I don't like is the fact you can't actually turn it off. It goes to "sleep" but continues to seep battery power nevertheless. Also, I've some bad news for you. The D800 will not work with the ML-L3, so that should make your choice a little easier. :)

Dave_W

The Dude
Just noticed though you mentioned the ML-L3 .....

I was referring to the ML-3 Infrared Remote .....

Oh...you're right. I was thinking of the small remote that I used on my D7000. I have no experience with the ML-3 but I do have experience with the ML-L3 and with that device you have to put it in front of the camera on the camera's right side in order to activate the shutter release. I found it annoying that I couldn't stand behind my camera or to the left side of the camera to use the device. So with my D7000 I tended to use the wired remote more often than the wireless. Perhaps the ML-3 doesn't suffer from this problem but I would check and make sure it's doesn't have the same issue as the ML-L3 does.

Thatguy Steve

Yes, I just did some more digging and the ML-3 did get half decent reviews but ..... it is still line-of-sight .... I think I'd be better off with the MC-36A ...... and if I have to be in the shot .... I'll use its timer ....

Again, thanks ......

BackdoorArts