Hi Guys! Reccommendations on lense options for J1

Somersetscott

Hi Guys, Seems like a nice forum! :smile-new:

I've had a compact for many years, and travelled - a few years back bought a cheap bridge and fallen in love with photography (I am a total newbie though) A few months ago I purchased a J1 inc. Lens kit (30-110mm) I am astonished at the speed and clarity of this system camera - but I do wish I bought a proper DSLR but for now the I can learn alot from the J1.

My Question is - Could any of you make any reccommendations on how to gain focal lenth for this system camera? - the lenses are great, but I would like to take some wild life photos.. All suggestions are appreciated - I am working on a slight budget though :)

Many thanks, Scott

Somersetscott

Haha! thanks for the reply - I've done this and ended up with an exspensive piece of rubbish - its like half a binocular to screwed onto the end of the original lense premoting it extends X7 :mad: horrific effects! extreme loss of quality, I should when I get back from Sweden post this awful discision of mine so perhaps you guys can have a laugh and any newbies following me will not try it..

So thats why i'm asking guys that know - before I waste more money I could have put toward a decent lens or camera :)

Thanks, Scott

pedroj

Depends what you are going to do in the future, if it's to go slr I believe You can buy an adapter to fit DSLR lens to it but they are not cheap or stay with what you have...I would have a look at the Nikon site and check out the lens they have for the 1 series...

I realy don't think there is a cheap fix...

Somersetscott

Yes, Pedro you're right! - I am probably looking at an adapter for F-mount then a 2nd hand f-mount lens - hitting two birds with one stone by buying lenses that will be useful when I upgrade the J1 body for something more desirable in the future.