Noob's journey !

alekhkhanna

Quite embarrassed to post these pics out here, but I'm a total noob when it comes to photography, so I guess criticisms will help me click better.

All have been clicked in the night with very little light (nothing fancy, all from the front-yard). Mostly the ISOs are bumped up (due to low light and no tripod; in the range of 2000-6400 IIRC; D5100 with a 18-105mm). No extra lighting source apart from a couple of bulbs. No flash fired in any.
Please point out the flaws so that I can shoot better. :)

XCOB5.jpg

VjE0G.jpg

^^ Apart from lighting, I think the leaf in the foreground spoils the composition.

7yHsd.jpg

urJkI.jpg

5K4g8.jpg

dwCYn.jpg

^^ Improper positioning of the plant. :|

PNvGc.jpg

I guess all of these will look a tad better if I use a tripod, tone down the ISO and use a slower shutter speed.

Eye-level

Banned
I shoot at ISO 200 always (98% of the time) and if I do change it usually to ISO 400. Maybe once in a blue moon I'll use ISO 800. I always keep my white balance at about 5500K (flash setting) or if I am indoors I'll use incandescent.

Don't be embarrassed about your photography shoot just go look at some of my stuff...horrible I tell you...LOL

alekhkhanna

Lol. I guess I can lower the ISO with a tripod (as with lower ISO the shutter stays open for a longer time under dim light, right ?) to keep images steady.
And while I did play with the WB, I still haven't figured out the Kelvin settings. But then it's just been 1 day since I owned my precious. :p

Eye-level

Banned
No. That is not how it works. Shutter speed is what controls how long the shutter stays open. You must learn the basics - aperture, shutter speed, ISO, white balance. Learn and understand how those four things work and work with each other and you will be well on your way to becoming a better photographer.

Eye-level

Banned
Lower ISO - daylight higher ISO - night light