Raw... Jpeg.... Raw & jpeg

RAW.... JPEG or RAW & JPEG

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

TedG954

I didn't know where else to post this inquiry, so I put it here.

When you are shooting pictures, which MODE do you use PRIMARILY? Meaning, what is your camera set on right now and most of your time taking pictures. I'm trying to figure out the benefit of shooting both JPEG and RAW when it's the RAW photos that I process. What are your thoughts?

Rick M

99% of my shots are raw. When I'm shooting casual snapshots (like a birthday party for example) I will shoot Jpeg fine. I have no use for shooting them combined.

Mike150

You can probably find a few good arguments for all three methods. I use "Both". As a total amateur, I like having the RAW format for those shots I'd like to add a little more color or brightness to. My wife on the other hand wants instant access to the shot once out of the camera. When I download a memory card, my shots go to a network drive, Raw in my partition JPG in hers. This keeps her happy with a minimal amount of work for me, and we all know that when the wife is happy, life is good.

TedG954

You can probably find a few good arguments for all three methods. I use "Both". As a total amateur, I like having the RAW format for those shots I'd like to add a little more color or brightness to. My wife on the other hand wants instant access to the shot once out of the camera. When I download a memory card, my shots go to a network drive, Raw in my partition JPG in hers. This keeps her happy with a minimal amount of work for me, and we all know that when the wife is happy, life is good.

But you didn't vote in the poll. ;)

TedG954

99% of my shots are raw. When I'm shooting casual snapshots (like a birthday party for example) I will shoot Jpeg fine. I have no use for shooting them combined.

Good. So I'm assuming your "vote" was RAW ONLY. I'm leaning in that direction, though DUAL processing is why I got my 32GB card. But it won't go to waste.