Macro with kit lens

PaulBoyoWhite

Hi
I thought my first post after my hello would be a question.
I have had my D3100 for a week.I would like to try some practice macro shots with the standard kit lens.What sort of settings would you recommend .
Do i stay at 18 mm and go in very close or do I stand away and go closer with the lens as in 50mm.
Although I am a newbie to Dslr I have used a bridge camera before but never thought the picture quality came out as good as my other point and shoot.

I have decided to approach Dslr as a complete Newbie and learn from the ground up.

N_Addy

Getting focus at close ranges will be your limiting factor. Experiment with focus at 18 and 55 (I assume you have an 18-55?) and see how close you can get.

One way to do close-up with a non-macro lens is to use an extension tube between the camera and lens. This increases the focal length and lets you get in closer. I haven't done this myself but I've seen examples from those who have. It works fairly well.

EDIT: Note that less expensive extension tubes disable your auto-focus capability. You'll need to manual focus with them.

Last edited:
The kit lens with the 3100 does not do very well with macro. I have tried many time and was always disappointed. Ended up just buying a macro lens and love it.

Last edited:

Dave_W

The Dude
The term "Macro" is not the same as "close up" photography. People use them interchangeably but they are in fact different terms. In general, a kit lens will not give you a macro image, per se, but will give you a very nice close up image. In order to produce a true "macro" image you have to achieve a 1:1 ratio with the subject and the resulting image. In otherwords, the image has to be equal to, or larger than, the size of the subject you are shooting.

N_Addy

And don't forget the Tamron 90. Good lens with more working distance than the 60. Thom Hogan gives it very good reviews.