Lens Recommendations? Other recommendations?

PandaPrincess

So I'm new to this DSLR stuff... I finally got a D5100 with a lens as a present :) Since I'm so new to this and I'm still learning I'm hoping you guys can help me out with some lens recommendations and maybe some recommendations for some other stuff I might need or find useful.

I live in Western NC and I go out and try to capture some of the wildlife, all I have is the kit lens for the D5100 and the deer come close but not that close. I also take a lot of pictures of the dogs, cats, flowers and whatever else I find interesting in the yard, I've only had the camera for a few days so I haven't really ventured out yet, plus we live in the middle of the woods so the "yard" is HUGE.

I'm also going to Alaska for a few months (Dutch Harbor) so I will want to use the camera there. It's a small island so there isn't too much there but I imagine to keep myself busy I'll probably be reading or taking pictures (if I feel like freezing).

So yeah, any suggestions on what I might need or would be useful to me would be very much appreciated. Like I said, I have the camera, the kit lens, and a camera bag. Maybe any good books to read as well so I can learn more... I'm thinking some good lens suggestions would be most helpful, I really have no idea where to even start there, hopefully not too expensive...

fotojack

Well, depending on your budget, you could go for the 55-300VR lens. Great lens for not a lot of money. Moving up, there's the 70-300VR that a lot of people rave about........but more expensive. Then again, you could check around for some "previously enjoyed" bargains. :)

Which "kit" lens did you get....the 18-55 or the 18-105? You didn't say.

Dave_W

The Dude