Newbie - hello - help A Mode settings.

beaner

Hi
I am the proud owner of a D3100 been keen on getting into photography for ages.

Anyhow, I've had my camera for over a week and have been taking some great pics in Aperture priority mode.

Yesterday i wanted to take some backlit pictures of my children and was playing with metering modes and got some ok pictures. But on finishing up I noticed that when I was in aperture priority mode the aperture was static whilst turning the lens and the shutter speed was changing as I was turning.

I have been through all the menus it seems and I have done both 'reset' options but still when I turn the lens in A mode the shutter speed changes but the f.stop number stays the same. Probably why I'm not getting as sharp pictures.

Any ideas? Am a complete newbie by the way and I think I have reset all my options, but I've clearly flicked something, somewhere....

TIA

Nikon Photographer

I noticed that when I was in aperture priority mode the aperture was static whilst turning the lens and the shutter speed was changing as I was turning.

I have been through all the menus it seems and I have done both 'reset' options but still when I turn the lens in A mode the shutter speed changes but the f.stop number stays the same. Probably why I'm not getting as sharp pictures.

What do you mean, when you say turning the lens ?? in aperture mode, you set the f stop you want to use and the camera will set a shutter speed to match, the shutter speed will go up and down according to the light, but the f stop will stay at the setting you have applied

beaner

What do you mean, when you say turning the lens ?? in aperture mode, you set the f stop you want to use and the camera will set a shutter speed to match, the shutter speed will go up and down according to the light, but the f stop will stay at the setting you have applied