settings/mode to get clear image of people walking at a distance

movingclarity

I am brand new to DSLR D5100 and just know 2 settings that I learnt this week :)

shutter 1/250, f 3.5, iso 100 - cover a street - nice view
shutter 1/500, f 3.5, iso 500 - when people moving

can someone suggest more settings to try. I like to get clear image of these

people walking at a distance
Buildings at a distance

when I zoom in, like to see it clear. my images are 4.8 mb, so this site didnt let me upload

N_Addy

Congrats on getting off of 'auto' mode. That's the first step to learning to create images rather than take snapshots.

To answer your question, it really doesn't work that way. There are very few "default" setting for various situations.

How you expose any shot depends on a number of variables, the most important of which is your available light. For example, the settings to shoot someone walking down the street in direct sunlight may be different than the same situation on a cloudy day.

Experience is your best teacher. Shoot a lot and study what works and what doesn't. Learn how aperture, shutter speed, and ISO work together to make a good image.

I'd highly recommend you read this book. It does a great job explaining exposure in easy to understand terms.

Understanding Exposure - by Bryan Peterson

PhotoAV8R

mc, you've already gotten some great guidance, but Google "exposure triangle" for some "free" instruction.

Also, here is a website that can resize your photos without a stand-alone application to download.

movingclarity11

mc, you've already gotten some great guidance, but Google "exposure triangle" for some "free" instruction.
Also, here is a website that can resize your photos without a stand-alone application to download.

Thks to Addy all for advice and detail. I see I have a long way to go in learning and I did order a Book and DVD, but am going thru detail of the book you mentioned about Understanding Exposure