Please help a newbie choose a decent/cheap telephoto zoom lens

grcd

Dear everyone,

I am very new to DSLRs, and to photography -- I am acquainted with some of the terminology and I have been taking photographs for a long time, but this is my first time getting a piece of equipment that I can truly call 'professional' (for my level, anyway!)

So, as you have gathered, I just bought a D3200 and I am very happy with my purchase. I decided to also get myself a decent telephoto/zoom lens, ideally somewhere around 70-210mm. I believe that due to the crop factor, this would be the equivalent of 112-336mm (1.6x) which I believe is mighty fine for my needs (I intend to use it for portraits, objects shot from a distance, etc.)

The problem is that the camera already set me back quite a lot, and even a $50 lens would exceed my current budget, which I want to keep to a minimum. I have identified two lens candidates, and to my understanding they should both work with the D32000 but on M (Manual) mode only. Here are they:

Sigma 70-210mm F4-5.6

Tokina 70-210mm SD

Both cost around $30 with shipping included, and are well within my budget.

Do you know if I should chose one or the other? I am relatively familiar with Sigma, but I am not aware of Tokina. I am interested in a 'vintage' feel.

As long as the lenses will work on the D3200 I am happy. I don't mind if I have to set it on manual -- gives me an excuse to learn to use the camera on manual instead of over-relying on Automatic modes.

If anyone is familiar with these brands and/or the lenses in particular, please advise me. Compatibility is obviously my most important requirement, but I also want the best product... given my paltry budget and price range I doubt I can really get much better than these two.

Sigma 70-210mm F4-5.6 Telephoto Zoom Lens for Nikon F Mount SLR Cameras | eBay

GOOD QUALITY TOKINA 70MM - 210MM TELE. ZOOM LENS NIKON F BAYONET FITTING | eBay

Your advice is most welcome!

fotojack