Blown out photos?! Help please

kaughtphotography

Hi, I currently shoot a D90 and do mainly portrait photography. My go-to lens is my 85mm 1.8 AF NIKKOR. I love it because it's super smooth and usually turns out great images. Lately though, a few of my pictures seem to be blown out, very little contrast. I have changed the ISO, and played around with the settings, but I am a rookie with my camera. I am constantly trying to learn from it, but this has me baffled. 99% of the time, I stay away from shooting in direct sunlight. It happens more often when I am shooting up or on the same plane as my subject and everywhere in between. I'm sure there is a simple solution, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for your time :)

kaughtphotography

DSC_0196.jpg

This is an example of what is happening. I took this to check my light before we started the session and got this.

I added the picture of the baby with the suitcases after I noticed it had happened here too. Both were shot out of direct sunlight

Attachments

• DSC_0066.jpg
    DSC_0066.jpg
    736.6 KB · Views: 200
Last edited:

Pierro

I'm wondering whether the camera has chosen to meter down below the pram on the darker area or maybe above the pram, on a similar darker area. It looks like the sun was quite intense, and really bouncing off the babe, which is in real bright white clothing / blankets. If the metering was not on the very bright area, the babe would be way over exposed. Everywhere else except the babe, the metering is pretty damn right. Which says to me the camera metered somewhere else other than the babe.

What metering were you using ?

kaughtphotography