Confused between 70-300s!

agbenny

Friends,

I am a newbie to DSLR, and exploring the whole new world with my Nikon 5100. Its pure fun!

I am now looking for a new 70-300 zoom lens, keeping in mind a low budget and do not need a hi profile lens, at least for now. I just tried some wild-life pics, with the kit lens and it just didn;t pick-up as you know its range limitation.

I am now searching for few lenses and end up with:

Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR (Well with in my budget)

Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR and (I need to stretch, but should I?)

Tamron SP AF70-300mm Di VC USD (Low priced, But do not want to compromise quality with a cheaper one)

What would you recommend for a beginner who doesn't want to spend and going to use it for learning?

I look forward to your feedback before I invest.

Thanks

Rick M

The 55-300 would be the cheapest on that list in most locations. All 3 of them are good lenses. I hear the tamron is good as long as you get the vc version.

Geoffc

You couldn't go wrong with the Nikon 70-300 VR. It excels in all but low light and the others will be the same in that respect. I'm not knocking the others but my wife has this and it's brilliant for the price point.

stmv

all three are fine, I would recommend you looking at the form factor, and size. The 55-300 is sized for the DX sensor, and is very compact but still takes sharp photos. For my DX camera, I choose to bring that (due to weight/convenience and still quality of pictures).

But in the end, you are mostly choosing range, and speed of the lens (these are all fairly slow lens (not 2.8 zoom) but with speed comes price and weight.

WhiteLight

70-300 VR all the way.. it is a very beautiful lens
the tamron comes a close second, but still second it would be..
55-300 as stmv pointed out is for a DX cam only.. so you may want to think of the future too

fotojack