Purchasing Back up - Recommendations?

kaughtphotography

Hi!

I am currently a college student with a sort of surprisingly booming career in photography. I have only been at it for a few years, but my schedule for the fall has gotten me a little overwhelmed. I am to the point where it's getting serious enough for me to consider really buckling down and putting everything into it. Photography has largely been a hobby for me, but business has really started to get steady. I recently sold my old D3000 for some extra cash because it wasn't really functional with a couple of my lenses (autofocus wasn't compatible). I shoot a D90 which, I realize isn't the top notch portrait DSLR. I do love it though, and for a broke college student, it's working pretty well! I've got a few weddings coming up though, and the thought of not having a backup scares me to death! I am looking to purchase a back up or possibly upgrade and use my D90 as my second camera. I have looked at all of the current models, and am considering even taking out a small loan to splurge on a great one. I was just wondering what models you guys have experience with and what you would recommend? I realize that the photographer and the lens make the photo, but I want to make a smart choice choosing a new camera!

Thank you so much for any advice!
Krista

KWJams

Tough question to answer.
The D90 is an above entry level camera and perhaps a better lens would serve you better than another camera.

kaughtphotography

Well, the issue is that I need another camera for backup purposes. Shooting a wedding without a secondary scares me to death. I have been looking at the D7000, and that seems like the obvious choice as it's a bit of an upgrade and isn't too pricey. Any thoughts? I guess I should mention that I shoot mostly families, newborns, weddings, and seniors.

Phillydog1958